Flying H and Clearwater claimed wins in the Ylvisaker Cup

The Ylvisaker Cup, the third leg of the 16-goal league, following the Continental Cup and the Joe Barry Memorial Cup, continued on Monday February 12 at Patagones Polo Club.  The tournament, currently underway at Patagones Polo Club and the National Polo Center, in Wellington, Florida, United States, has been established in 2003, as a tribute to William T. “Bill” Ylvisaker, one of the most remarkable American player, and a true pioneer of polo, who encouraged to the development and growth of the sport in the Florida area, in the 70s and 80s.

Forbes Plunkett, who claimed the two previous tournaments, the Continental Cup and the Joe Barry Memorial Cup, is not playing the Ylvisaker Cup.

In the opening match, Flying H earned an impressive 13-6 win over Dazos, while Clearwater beat Catamount by a 14-12 score.

The competition sees eleven teams up to 16 goals, split in two leagues, in participation, and the final is set to be played on Sunday February 25, at the  National Polo Center.

The last league games of the Ylvisaker Cup will be played thorugh Thursday February 15 and Sunday February 18, prior to the semifinals, due on Thursday February 22. The schedule is as follows;

Thursday February 15 (Patagones)

11am: Novo Polo vs. 90210 Polo

Friday February 17 (Patagones)

10am: Catamount vs. Copperline Farm (Patagones)

Saturday February 17 (Patagones)

10am: Clearwater vs. La Fe/Dazos

12.30pm: SD Farms/Old Hickory Bourbon vs. Mayer Ranch

Sunday February 18 (Patagones)

10am: Patagones vs. 90210 Polo

12,30pm: Flying H vs. BTA

Cover photo by Agustina Fonda.

Ylvisaker Cup: Teams & Fixture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.