Iglehart Cup: Third 16-goal tournament kicked off in Palm Beach

The Iglehart Cup, the third competition of the NPC-16 goal Championship, kicked on Tuesday February 27. The tournament is underway at Patagones Polo Club, Port Mayaca Polo Club and the National Polo Center, all in Wellington, Florida, United States. The contest is named after Philip Iglehart, who reached 7-goal status and among other achievements, he won the US Open, in 1953. He was inducted in the Museum of Polo and Hall of Fame, in 1993 and one of the Hall of Fame’s highest honors is also named after him, the prestigious Philip Iglehart Award  established in 2001, to acknowledge exceptional lifetime contributions to the sport of polo.

The Iglehart Cup serves as the third qualifying leg of four prestigious national tournaments , culminating in the NPC 16-Goal Championship. Qualifiers will be played across multiple clubs, with the championship final will be hosted on Sunday, April 14, at the National Polo Center. Each of the four national tournaments serve as a qualifier for the NPC 16-Goal Championship, with each winning team – Forbes Plunkett and Clearwater moving on to the final event. Should a team win more than one qualifier, that team will automatically advance to the NPC 16-Goal Championship final.

The Iglehart Cup sees eleven teams up to 16 goals, split in two brackets, in participation. I

Iglehart Cup, latest results:

Tuesday February 27 (Patagones PC)

Copperline 14-11 90210 Polo

BTA 11-7 La Fe/Dazos

Thursday February 29 (Patagones PC)

Tonkawa 15-11 Mayer Ranch

Novo Polo 14-9 Novo Polo

Friday March 1

Flying H 10-7 Pilot (Patagones PC)

La Fe/Dazos 12-5 Las Brisas (National Polo Center)

Saturday March 2 (Patagones PC)

Tonkawa 11-10 BTA

Sunday March 3 (Patagones PC)

Pilot 10-7 Novo Polo

Mayer Ranch 11-11 Las Brisas

Copperline Farm 10-6 Palm Beach Equine

Monday March 4 (Patagones PC, field Port Mayaca PC 5)

90210 Polo 13-12 Flying H

The Iglehart Cup will continue on Wednesday March 6, and the league stage will come to an end on Monday March 11. The semifinals are due on Thursday March 14 at the National Polo Center, while the final will be played on Sunday March 17 at Patagones Polo Club (field Valiente).

Cover photo, Santino Magrini (Flying H), by Agustina Fonda.

Iglehart Cup – Teams & Fixture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.