The 2024 Savile Cup

Mystery Creek take historic title
On Saturday 2 March, Mystery Creek defeated Rangitikei in The Savile Cup Final at Kihikihi Polo Club with a score of 8 goals to 3. JP Clarkin received the Most Valuable Player award and his pony Sublime was chosen as the Best Retrained Racehorse. Kit Brooks was presented with the Fair Play award and his pony, Black Spot, was chosen as the Best Playing Pony, while Zoe Reader’s Chilli, Absolute and Maverick were chosen as the Champion String of Ponies. 

Philipp Muller was delighted with his team’s win, “Winning the Savile Cup, the oldest and most prestigious sporting trophy in the southern hemisphere, first played in 1890, is a real highlight for any polo player. Winning the New Zealand Open in the 6 goal two weeks before makes this trip to New Zealand a truly memorable one.”Meanwhile in the other Finals from the tournament, Rangitikei secured The Wilson Cup, Waimai lifted The Riddiford and Levin Cup, Kihikihi took home The Mackenzie Salver. A full report will be included in the April issue of Polo Times, click here to gift a subscription today! 

The Savile Cup Final Teams:

Mystery Creek (13): Phillip Muller (0), Zoe Reader (0), Kit Brooks (6) & JP Clarkin (7)

Rangitikei (12): Harriet McKelvie (0), Mark Duncan (3), Ross Ainsley (4) & Angus McKelvie (5) 

Photograph: Mystery Creek, winners of The Savile Cup.

By Bodiam Photography

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.