On Thursday, February 22, the draw party for the second leg of the prestigious Gauntlet of Polo series, the USPA Gold Cup, determined preliminary matches for the nine teams set to compete. Proudly celebrating its golden anniversary, 2024 marks the 50th edition of the historic tournament. Additionally, the Retama Cup will be introduced as the subsidiary of the USPA Gold Cup paying homage to the former Retama Polo Center in Texas.

Played at the National Polo Center (NPC) in Wellington, Florida, the tournament serves as the second stage in the Gauntlet of Polo series, drawing the world’s greatest polo talent to compete for the three most sought-after American titles: the C.V. Whitney Cup, USPA Gold Cup and U.S. Open Polo Championship. All eight teams in the 2024 C.V. Whitney Cup (Coca-Cola, La Dolfina, La Fe, Pilot, Park Place, Tamera, The Dutta Corp, Valiente) will be returning for the USPA Gold Cup. Granting individual entries in the Gauntlet of Polo for a third consecutive year, the elite competition will also include the addition of Clearwater as the ninth team vying for the coveted title. While teams can enter individual tournaments within the series, they will not qualify to win the Gauntlet of Polo as a result.

Reigning champions Poroto Cambiaso and Tomas Panelo will re-unite to defend their title alongside Rufino Merlos and 2021 champion David Paradice for newcomers, La Dolfina. Poroto’s father, the legendary Adolfo Cambiaso, will attempt to lead Valiente to the organization’s sixth victory. Last reaching the Gold Cup podium in 2022, 2023 finalist Pilot will vie for their third win, and remains the only team to capture the Gauntlet in its inaugural season (2019).

Former USPA Chairman Chip Campbell returns to the Gold Cup and Gauntlet of Polo series under a new team name, Clearwater. Campbell has not competed in the Gauntlet since 2021 when he played for Cessna. 2017 Gold Cup finalist Gillian Johnston (Coca-Cola) stands as the sole female competitor in the series. Coca-Cola joins Clearwater, La Dolfina, La Fe, Park Place, Tamera and The Dutta Corp all battling for their first USPA Gold Cup title, with La Fe and The Dutta Corp boasting a unique advantage fielding identical rosters to last year’s competition.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.